Navaratri Uthsav Grandly Celebrating In Manthani


The Durga Mata navaratri celebrations began on 13th October with Dwajarohanam and kalasha stapana followed by Lalitha Panchami on 17th October, moola nakshatra pustaka rupini saraswati puja on 19th October, Saddula Bathukamma on 20th October; Durgastami on 21st October; Vijayadasami on 22nd October.

This season is dedicated to Goddess Durga Mata, who killed the demon, Mahishasura, after an unrelenting battle which lasted nine days ending in the victory of the goddess.It is widely believed that Lord Shiva allowed Durga Mata to see her mother for nine days in a year and the festival recalls the visit.

The nine days are classified into three basic categories based on the qualities of tamas,rajas and sattvas. The first three days are said to be of tamas, wherein the goddesses worshipped are fierce like Kali and Durga. The next three days are for Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth, which are materially oriented. The last phase is for Saraswati, goddess of knowledge and enlightenment.

Bathukamma is celebrated for nine days during Navratri. The festivities begin on Mahalaya Amavasya  and the 9-day festivities culminate on “Saddula Bathukamma”  festival on Ashwayuja Ashtami, popularly known as Durgashtami which is two days ahead of Dasara.

Around 20 to 25 idols were installed this year by the Durga Mata Celebration Committee in different parts of the constituency. The Navratri Festival is celebrating with immense zeal and devotion for nine days. Durga puja is worshiped in nine different forms for nine these days.

  • N = Nav Chetna
  • A = Akhand Jyoti
  • V = Vighna Nashak
  • R = Ratjageshwari
  • A = Anand Dayi
  • T = Trikal Darshi
  • R = Rakhan Karti
  • A = Anand Mayi MaaMay

Nav Durga bless you always.Wish you and your family a very Happy Navratri! 

You are able to post comments by logging in through facebook.



Comments are closed.